Unknown, Texas

It was a beautiful early Spring day when I found this muted little house. I was originally en route toward another abandoned home known as The Green Roof House located a short distance away; when I noticed the Unknown House quietly existing amongst its naked shrubs and dry golden grass.  The setting was like any other rural Texan home left abandoned for reasons unknown; it was isolated from its neighbors, simple in structure and – despite its close proximity to the highway –  it was barely noticeable by most who would drive by.

What I remember most about the Unknown House was the masculine vibe that seemed to silently ooze through the broken boards and missing windows. When poking my head through one of the glass less window frames for a better view of the interior, I could almost faintly detect the rustic scent of cologne mixed with sweat and dirt. It is not very often that a house comes across to me as being so decidedly masculine. Normally it is the feminine presence that I would sense in these old homes. It is usually the stentorian remains of  someone’s “feminine touch” such as the revealing layers of decorative wallpapers that would linger behind long enough for me to find and photograph.

I have wondered a few times if this building might have been used to house the unmarried men who may have worked the ranch belonging to the earlier mentioned  The Green Roof House; though nothing inside or on the property was found that could prove my theory right or wrong.

I don’t remember why at the time I chose not enter the house.  I can’t recall a feeling of unwelcome as I walked around the building and I cannot see anything in the photos that showed any real danger in entering. There was no basement to fall into nor any wasp swarms to avoid.

I left the house, undisturbed, and continued to the Green Roof House.

NOTE: The Green Roof House’s story has not been publish as of yet. 

About palechickstudios


2 responses to “Unknown, Texas

  • Rachel

    What a beautiful, rustic old house. The black and white photo is especially nice. Not all black and whites turn out so wonderfully. It’s nice to find someone else who enjoys photographing and exploring old, abandoned houses like I do. Unfortunately, not everyone likes for you to photograph their property even if it is abandoned and/or falling down. I still manage to take quite a few photos though. Anyway, nice pictures.

    • palechickstudios

      Hi Rachel,

      Yeah, there are plenty of people who do not like their property photographed. I usually emphasize my respect and passion to preserve the buildings and will even offer a gift of some photos for the owner’s personal collection. sometimes that will work. other times I just have to walk away empty handed. :(

      Thanks for stopping by! Maybe we will cross paths some day :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

