You’re Not Breaking the Law, You’re preserving history

My Mother is a funny person and just when I think I have her figured out she always manages to surprise me.

My family is and has always been very supportive of my passion to document rural decay in America and my own saintly mother has even taken it onto herself to scout for abandoned houses for me in the great state of New Jersey. I recently teased my Mom, who has very clear ideas of what is right and wrong, that she was encouraging her daughter to break several trespassing laws.

Her quick and blunt response: “you’re not breaking the law, you’re preserving history“.

Gotta love and fully appreciate how the Mom thinks! I am strongly inclined to agree with her. Some day these houses, these wonderful relics of the past will no longer exist, but my photos will and hopefully with them so will a bit of history.

This will be my third consecutive year that I have spent hunting for and exploring abandoned rural houses with my camera. I can still clearly remember the first house I came across in rural North Dakota, just a few short miles South of the Canadian border, and the rush of fear I felt about entering it. In fact I didn’t enter that first house because the house displayed a menacing vibe that got the better of my often overactive imagination…

Ever since that day I have kept a keen eye out for similar houses and worked hard in improving my photography skills in order to capture the essence and power of these forgotten structures. I enter them with little fear and plenty of determination to see what clues remains inside from the building’s previous life. Sometimes returning several times to see everything in a different light or season.

One day I hope to create a book on the subject, displaying my images and sharing my stories and research, but for now I seek, document and write.

About palechickstudios

Artist, Blogger, Traveler, Tea enthusiast View all posts by palechickstudios

2 responses to “You’re Not Breaking the Law, You’re preserving history

Leave a Reply

